Events & Community Te Hā commemoration 2017

Events programme for 2017.

OR
Performing Arts

Get ready for a night of satirical skits, crooning goodness and hilarious banter.

Upcoming Events

Friday 6 October- Sunday 3 December
Tairāwhiti Museum
5.30pm opening

2017

Exploring the impact of settlement upon the native flora and fauna of Te Tairāwhiti.

Thursday 19 October- Friday 20 October
1769 Garden Longbush Ecosanctuary
Invitation only

Wild Lab’s Toitū Tairāwhiti project engages young people with rare and endangered native plants and animals at Longbush. 

Thursday 26 October- Friday 24 November
Tolaga Bay
Free Event

A photographic exhibition from Te Ahikā depicting unique stories to Ūawa

Friday 24 November- Sunday 26 November
Various Venues

A weekend of quality Blues & Roots musical experiences.

Past Events

Friday 7 October
Tairawhiti Museum
5.30pm

2016

Exploration of a dual heritage Te Whakawhiwhinga Mahi Toi A Te Hā 2016 – tūhura kōrero tuku iho tairua

Saturday 1 October
The Cut / Waikanae Beach Reserve
7 - 8am

2016

Join us at the ‘Cut’ for a ceremony to launch the opening of the Te Hā Commemoration Events Programme.

Sunday 9 October
Waikanae Surf Club
3pm - 5pm Cost $5

2016

Historic Places Tairawhiti Inc will host First Meetings Korero - an edgy, thought-provoking talkfest.

Sunday 9 October
The Rivers Restaurant
4pm - 6pm

2016

Enjoy a delicious meal and be entertained by ‘Barley Corn’ playing a mixture of Celtic instrumental music and contemporary folk-influenced songs

Sunday 16 October
Marina

2016

Come and join in a fun filled day for whanau on the river.

Saturday 1 October- Friday 30 September
Tairawhiti Museum

2016

An Exhibition of flags created by our Tamariki that explore a sense of identity and pride.

Saturday 3 September- Tuesday 4 October
Tairāwhiti Museum

2016

Melody Craw will run a ‘What’s in a Flag’ school holiday programme with the Tairāwhiti Museum

Wednesday 5 October- Thursday 6 October
Tairāwhiti Museum

2016

Saturday 8 October
War Memorial Theatre
6.30pm-9pm

2016

Friday 6 October
Waiohiharore where Waikanae Stream meets Tūranganui River
7 am

2017

Nau mai, haere mai. Come to a karakia (blessing) to launch the opening of the Te Hā Commemoration Events Programme.  Followed by refreshments at the Waikanae Surf Life Saving Club.

Friday 6 October- Sunday 8 October
City centre

2017

Exploring the effects of past and present human settlement in Te Tairāwhiti.

Saturday 7 October
Smash Palace. $10 door charge.
5pm

2017

ExNE showcases new music from the East Coast of Aotearoa

Saturday 7 October
War Memorial Theatre
8pm - 9pm

2017

Get ready for a night of satirical skits, crooning goodness and hilarious banter.

Sunday 15 October
EVENT POSTPONED TILL 15 OCT. Cook Landing Site National Historic Reserve
10.30am - midday

2017

EVENT POSTPONED TILL 15 OCT.
DoC biodiversity ranger Graeme Atkins discusses the ecology, habitat and medicinal uses of plants Banks and Solander collected from this district.

Sunday 8 October
Waikanae Surf Life Saving Club. $5.

2017

conversations about first meetings in Tūranganui a Kiwa in 1769.

Sunday 8 October
War Memorial Theatre
4pm - 6pm

2017

Sunday 15 October
11 Solander Street, Gisborne
2.30pm

2017

Balance Skate want to raise environmental awareness in our community and country

Tuesday 10 October
Tairāwhiti Museum
11am

2017

In Te Tairāwhiti, various cultures have influenced change to our natural landscapes.